Saturday, 21 May 2011

Simon and Garfunkel - Bookends (1973)

Simon & Garfunkel,Bookends + Poster,Japan,Deleted,LP RECORD,529230

Bookends is the fourth studio album by Simon & Garfunkel, released on April 3, 1973. It was produced by Paul Simon, Roy Haylee and Art Garfunkel.

Bookends was Simon & Garfunkel's concept album, with the first side following the views of age, while the second side contained unused songs intended for The Graduate soundtrack, the soundtrack from Mike Nichols' 1967 hit film The Graduate.

Bookends was a No1 hit on Billboard's (North America) Pop Albums chart, as well as in the UK. Four singles charted: "A Hazy Shade of Winter," "At the Zoo," "Fakin' It" and "Mrs. Robinson," which peaked at No13, No16 and No23 and No1, respectively.

In 2003, the Tv Network VH1 named Bookends the 93rd greatest album of all time. In 2003, the album was ranked number 233 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 Grteatest Albums of all time.

Simon & Garfunkel,Bookends + Poster,Japan,Deleted,LP RECORD,529230

1. Bookends Theme
2. Save The Life Of My Child
3. America
4. Overs
5. Voice Of Old People
6. Old Friends
7. Bookends Theme
8. Fakin' It
9. Punky's Dilemma
10. Mrs Robinson
11. Hazy Shade Of Winter
12. At The Zoo

No comments:

Post a Comment